Day 31 – 33 (4th – 6th June): Biting Off More Than I Can Chew

Committing to blogging every day would be realistic if I didn’t feel the need to have an important focus or lesson within every post. I found myself up late at night typing away and it was my sleep that suffered. Lack of adequate rest is not a good thing at the best of times but certainly not a good thing when I have a 4.45am alarm and clients who are relying on me to be on my best game in order to motivate them!

If I am to continue putting in the effort to coach in this way, then realistically I need to schedule set time to blog, still reporting daily activity and dietary intake, but reporting a few days worth of activity in one blog. Wasn’t it in my very own blog this week that I said if something isn’t working (ie you aren’t getting the results you desire, or quality is lacking), something needs to change? So this will be one of the small changes I make in order to claim back some me time, and increase the quality of the time that I give to others.

This reminds me of one of my favourite quotes, and may seem a little extreme, however it can be applied to any situation that you aren’t happy with.

“If you find your here and now intolerable, you have 3 choices:

1) Remove yourself from the situation

2) Change something

3) Accept the situation fully”

 

There are never any other options. So if you aren’t finding joy in your day, if your days are spent doing things in a robotic, repetitive manner, and you find yourself complaining about your situation or being a victim of your own “story”, then make the conscious decision right now to take back positive control of your life.

It is so important to set aside time for yourself. My me time is a sleep in (7am is a sleep in for me!) – or just not having to set an alarm at least twice a week, eating breakfast at the kitchen table instead of in the car, a walk along the coast, putting my apron on and making the biggest mess I can in the kitchen (as well as a few hours spent Sundays getting my food ready for the week ahead), you-tubing new training ideas for clients or doing NOTHING at all. That’s what I consider me time, and If I start saying “yes” to everyone else and these things fall to the wayside I can’t be my best self or help others find theirs.

Below is my dietary intake and training for 3 days!

Dietary record for day 31:

Breakfast: 1 x breakfast frittata (egg, bacon, spinach, capsicum, cheese)

Snacks: 1/2 cup mixed nuts, smoothie (banana, 1 cup milk, 1 scoop vanilla whey protein, 2 teaspoon cacao, 1 teaspoon peanut butter)

Lunch: 1 x breakfast frittata (not enough!!)

Dinner: Chicken Parmigiana and steamed broccoli

Supplements: 4 x greens tablets, 4 x Omega 3 caps

TRAINING:

Flex & Stretch class 45min – noon

Flex & Stretch class 45min – 7pm

 

Dietary record for day 32:

Breakfast: AMAZING smoothie – 1/3 cup coconut cream, 2/3 cup water, 1/2 cup frozen raspberries, 2 teaspoon cacao powder

Snacks: nut/seed slice

Lunch: leftover chicken parmigiana

Dinner: Homemade pizza – recipe below (super easy!)

Dessert: Lemon & coconut slice

TRAINING: none (luckily had my RPM covered as my head was still blocked up), 10 minutes of gross tabata with my corporate clients at the end of their session

 

10380549_10152068590662653_1802012904729008987_o

Homemade Pizza on Spelt Base

The recipe for the pizza base is from the book “Make peace with your plate”, was super easy and would actually be ok divided into smaller portions to have with eggs or as toast.

You will need:

2 cups of spelt flour (although buckwheat will also work)

2 teaspoon of baking powder (or one of baking soda – I didn’t have BP)

2 tablespoons chia seeds

1/4 cup coconut oil

3/4 cup water

 

Combine all the ingredients, and knead until you have a dough like consistency (it won’t need much kneading). Roll out, and bake at 180 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Take the dough out, top with your favourite toppings (I used mashed avocado/garlic/chilli on the base), such as spinach, chorizo, sundried tomatoes and feta – bake for another 15-20 minutes or until toppings cooked and dough crusty – ENJOY!

Dietary record for day 33:

Breakfast: Apple-cinnamon protein bar (homemade by a client – will share the recipe when I recreate this weekend!), long black with cream

Snacks: soy long mac, 2 medjool dates, 1 salami stick

Lunch: 2 x chia mountain bread wrap with chicken, garlic hummus, sundried tomato and spinach, 250ml coconut water, 1 cup 100% apple juice

Dinner: 1 Xmini chicken burrito (the wraps seemed to be palm size!), 2 x chicken taco with chicken, cheese, lettuce, capsium, sour cream – this was meant to be a POST WORKOUT meal after a strength session at the gym but while serving it up I realised WE FORGOT TO GO TO THE GYM, which my partner found hilarious because he had been hoping I would forget! Oh well… STRIKE

 

TRAINING:

Flex & Stretch 7.30am

 

 

 

One thought on “Day 31 – 33 (4th – 6th June): Biting Off More Than I Can Chew

Leave a Reply

