Day 26 (30th May 2014): Don’t Waste a Strike on Missing a Meal!

The moral of this blog is simple – do not waste 1 of your 3 weekly strike meals on missing a meal!

I was feeling the symptoms of a head cold since having my first fillings yesterday, and it was much worse after an awesome 1 hour massage so I came home to chill for the rest of the afternoon. My dinner plans fell through and out of pure laziness I didn’t eat dinner (STRIKE!).  This is not how I would encourage strikes to be spent! Funnily enough, I had hearty chicken soup about 4 metres from my warm nest. Chicken soup would have been a perfect option. Full of protein (from the eggs and chicken) and veggies and besides that – warming for the soul!

I would much rather save my strikes for my dinner at Little Creatures brewery tomorrow night or Sunday funday (which is likely to be couch and DVD day) so I will learn from this and drag myself to the kitchen to complete the hard task of re-heating ready made soup next time!

What is one of the reasons we get sick? We are missing key vitamins and minerals from our diet. Our body doesn’t function properly, you feel gross, you get sick. Another common reason – overworking (be it at work or training). Solution: ensure you are including down time in your week. A sleep in, a walk along the coast, a massage, facial or simply hopping into bed early to read. Try to include fruit and veg with every feeding (every 3-4 hours) to ensure you are getting your 10-15 servings of micronutrient rich, cancerfighting, acid neutralizing foods every day! If you struggle to do this, consider a greens supplement. I like Health Force Superfoods Vitamineral Greens or Orac Energy Greens, both of which can be ordered online from iHerb.

 

Dietary record for day 26:

Breakfast: slice of nut/seed loaf, long black with cream, banana

Snacks: slice of nut/seed loaf, 1 x homemade choc, 1 x apple smoothie (milk, banana, 1 scoop vanilla whey protein, 1 teaspoon peanut butter, 1 teaspoon cacao powder)

Lunch: Leftover meatballs with zucchini spaghetti

Dinner: STRIKE – Nothing: was in bed sick – learn from my mistake – DON’T waste a strike on missing a meal!

 

Training:

Upper body strength 11am

RPM Xpress at noon

 

Leave a Reply

