Day 20 (24th May 2014): Spaghetti and Meatballs

I have found a new favourite recipe and like most of my favourite new recipes, I will probably overdo it and then not want to hear about it again for quite some time.

Until then, check this out!

Spaghetti and Meatballs – the healthy version!

10333647_10152048468042653_8867983443391070656_o 10368866_10152048468102653_5452164270305081425_o

You will need:

2 zucchinis (spiral into spaghetti)

500g lamb mince

1 tin diced tomatoes

1 clove garlic – minced

1 onion diced

2 eggs

1/2 cup breadcrumbs

Combine mince, onion, minced garlic, eggs and breadcrumbs and roll into meatballs. Cook on a low heat until they start to brown, then carefully turn and cook the other side.

Blend your tin of tomatoes with garlic and whatever other delicious spices you enjoy to create your sauce, then pour over the meatballs and allow to the meatballs to finish cooking in the simmering sauce

Place meatballs on top of raw zucchini spaghetti and serve with parmesan. Once served I heated in microwave for 30 seconds just to warm the spaghetti a little. Top with parmesan! Yum!

This should serve 4!

Dietary record for day 20:

Breakfast: protein shake and long black with a teaspoon of cream on the way to my first session

Snack:s: An apple, handful of cashews, soy long mac. Do you know how hard it is to resist a slice of banana bread when your partner is smashing one back right next to you?! I’ll tell you what! Being accountable to my followers is really helping me make mindful decisions! And, when you feel/see or experience ANY type of progress, it really drives you to stay on track.

Lunch: I DID IT! I ordered a burger WITHOUT  a bun hahaha and it was satisfying enough. Not only was I proud of myself for having the control, but I looked at Marks bun and wasn’t envious at all. I was close to sharing chips, but as we were sitting on our butts all day at a seminar (Graham Hancock – Magician of the Gods), I was grateful for the friendly nudge in the right direction (Thank you Mark). PLUS I felt I had indulged enough this week!

Dinner: (entrée) cheese and dip platter: gouda, roast capsicum dip and Sakata crackers – too many – 15?). So a good thing I said “no” at lunch time haha. (Main) Spaghetti and meatballs (recipe above).

Dessert:  1 chickpea choc chip cookie (sharing recipe this week!) …ok and probably 2 cookies worth of dough hahaha at least I am honest!

One thought on “Day 20 (24th May 2014): Spaghetti and Meatballs

Leave a Reply

