Day 9 (13th May 2014): Cooking for Kids

We have my partner’s 3 children with us this week so I continue to try “kid friendly” recipes that encourage health but satisfy the harshest critics!

After resisting rice bubble and marshmallow slice on Sunday I went in search of a healthy version and found this

I misread the recipe and used peanut butter instead of coconut butter but the kids loved them. Well 2 out of 3 which is a WIN! These will be in the lunch box instead of store bought muesli bars tomorrow and we can be assured there are no nasty preservatives, thickeners or stabilizers in them.

Homemade muesli bars

Home-made muesli bars

Lunch today was a “post-workout” meal after a 30 minute GRIT plyometrics class (thanks Megan!), so I used this opportunity to make a delicious homemade pizza on mountain bread. I used 2 slices of mountain bread as one was ripped, and topped it with tomato paste, spinach, ham, cheese and leftover olives & sundried tomatoes from antipasto cups I had made on the weekend.  Quite high in calories but the right type of fuel I needed after my session.

Post workout pizza!

Post-workout pizza!

 

While dinner was cooking (or reheating as I had leftover soup & fritters from last night), I had breakfast frittatas baking. A delicious, easy to make option for those who need to eat on the road – or great for lunch alongside a salad. I combined 5 eggs, 2 tablespoons of chopped onion, spinach, 3 rashers of bacon chopped and a slice of cheese on top of each frittata. I baked them at 180 degrees for around 15 minutes YUM!

 

20140513_193842

Easy breakfast frittatas!

Dietary record for day 9:

Breakfast: AMAZING smoothie – 1 x banana, 1 scoop plain whey protein, 1 tablespoons of cacao, honey & peanut butter, 1 cup milk YUM

Snacks: small handful almonds, 2 mini choco slice cups (I made some in mini patty pans to up the “FUN” factor), 2 x soy long mac (mid morning and early afternoon)

Lunch: Post workout pizza

Dinner: bowl of chicken and corn soup, 2 x sweet potato and tuna fritters

Dessert: banana choc mousse (1 x small banana, 1 teaspoon cacao, 2 teaspoon honey, 2 teaspoon peanut butter)

 

Training:

30 minute GRIT PLYO class (please note: plyometrics is jumping, jumping and more jumping but as I am still nursing a calf injury I did the low impact version of the session which still made me sweat!)

45 minute boxing session in the afternoon

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 9 (13th May 2014): Cooking for Kids

Leave a Reply

