Day 3 (7th May 2014): Sugar strike day!

Day 3 was one of my  scheduled “sugar strike days” for the week. Why did I schedule this? It was my Mum’s birthday and there were tacos and chocolate mudcake on the menu. To be honest, I was feeling so good that as the evening approached I wasn’t even feeling like either of these things…my partner challenged me to give the wine and cake a miss and continue with no refined sugar. I said “I’ll try”. He knows me well enough to know that my response really meant, “I’ll say I’ll try but then I can just say I didn’t succeed”. He says that is not an option, I either take the challenge or I don’t… there will be no TRYING to accept the challenge. I did not accept the challenge.  It was nice of him to ask though. I am very talented at finding loopholes – even in my own challenges (the most memorable being when I told Mark I would pay him $50 if I bought a block of Marvellous when I was trying to cut it out…and bought a bag of M&M’s instead…”well it’s not Marvellous” I said. I need DISTINCT goals.

Dietary record for DAY 3:
Breakfast – 2 x bacon & egg cupcakes (I had a 6am start so these are handy to eat on the road)
Snacks – Nut/Seed loaf, handful (which turned into 2 handfuls of mixed nuts – still too many but an improvement), white tea with 2 drops liquid stevia
Lunch – leftover chicken/bacon spaghetti and 2 homemade chocolate cups (1 peanut butter cup, 1 date cup) – recipe below!!!

Dinner – 2 tacos, 1.5 soft tacos (burritos),  2 glasses sparkling shiraz AND 1 slice mudcake with icecream. I’ll be honest, I stopped at 3.5 tacos because I didn’t think I should own up to having 4 on this blog…and I suppose that is one purpose of keeping a dietary record. If you don’t want to fess up to it, chances are you won’t eat it – OR you could lie about it, but what purpose does that serve?

So yes…I ate all of that…and no, I hadn’t trained beforehand. Todays training was done in the AM so that’s a big fat STRIKE!

Training today was a 30 minute flex/core class at the bootcamp session I was running (which hurt!!!), as well as a 30 minute xpress RPM class and an upper body strength sesh which I fit in as I was early for RPM – it’s all about maximising time! I could have stood around checking my choreography but I decided there needs to be less time thinking about weight sessions and more time actually doing them.

Please note: Just because this was a scheduled “sugar strike day” did not mean I was going to strike all day. Today’s strike day was planned for dinner, so I confined my sugar intake to dinner time. Saturday will be a different story – there will strikes flying from left right and centre on my birthday – you heard it here first 🙂

For now, please enjoy the recipe below for HOMEMADE CHOCOLATE! SO SO EASY!!!

Homemade chocolate - Peanut Butter Cups

You will need:

80g cocoa butter

55g cocoa powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 tablespoons rice malt syrup

 

Method:

– Bring 2cm of water to boil in a saucepan and then turn off heat

– Sit a glass bowl over the saucepan and melt cocoa butter with vanilla extract

– When it has completely melted, stir in cocoa powder and whisk to ensure there are no lumps

– Stir in rice malt syrup (you can buy this from a health food store or it is cheaper in some Coles and IGA stores – great as a sweetener as it is fructose free, more on this another day)

Now for the fun part. You can smear the chocolate over a tray lined with baking paper and top with things like pistachio and cranberries and break into shards, or you can make mini cups like I did.  I find it easier to control intake this way – I see no guidelines when it comes to blocks or shards but can totally stop at 1 or 2 mini cups 🙂 Half fill mini patty pans. I made peanut butter cups by setting a small amount of chocolate in the bottom, adding a bit of peanut butter and sea salt, then topping with more chocolate. I use 100% peanut butter. With leftover chocolate I added peppermint essence and made a few small after dinner mint cups 🙂 I also experimented and added chopped medjool dates to a few cups. You can get really creative and this small amount would make around 15 cups.

ENJOY!

 

 

One thought on “Day 3 (7th May 2014): Sugar strike day!

Leave a Reply

