I may be a fitness professional but I too am capable of falling off the wagon…

Here’s what you need to know about me…I am a personal trainer, I am studying sports and exercise nutrition, and I LOVE food. I always know when my next meal will be and I am often thinking 2 meals ahead (with excited anticipation!). Although I know damn well what I should be putting in my mouth and also the importance of WHEN I should be eating it…It doesn’t mean I always follow it with 100% compliance. In fact I’d go as far as saying at times, I wouldn’t even practice 50% compliance. I am human, I have cravings, I can eat when I am emotional and have been known to knock back a block of marvellous in one sitting (on more than one occasion). Why am I sharing this information with the risk of damaging my image in the eyes of my friends, family and most importantly, my clients???…Because I don’t want to hide who I am. Not from anyone.

By committing to this “60 Days of Transparency” I become accountable to those who I have listed above, as well as anyone who has looked to me for guidance. My reasons for writing this are two fold. I want it to be clear that even those who work in this industry – who get up in front of clients everyday with encouraging words and advice to help you feel/perform and look your best – are not superheroes. We are not perfect and we too fall off the wagon from time to time.

I am of course speaking for myself. I am sure there are trainers out there who do eat clean 100% of the time, live, breathe, shit and sleep “health and fitness”, but I don’t believe I could maintain that forever without resent. I am more interested in finding a balance, taking back control and finding what works best for me. The other reason behind my blog is to show you how much progress you can make in a 60 day period. I am not implying that drastic physical changes take only 60 days to achieve, I am merely outlining that you can certainly begin to feel better and hence perform better by implementing a few lifestyle changes. By pinpointing your weakness, or your limiting factors, by setting measurable goals, and by coming up with a plan you believe you have some chance of following, there is a massive potential for change. The change I am speaking of is not a “bikini body”, it is the point where your best health, performance and state of mind align…you have found wellness through balance.

I considered starting this blog after my birthday, but that wouldn’t a true representation of reality. We all celebrate our birthday, heck, I have managed to spread mine out for over a week this year. The fact is, there will always be a reason why we want to “start fresh” tomorrow, or Monday or next week, but there is no reason why you can’t start today. Just set clear guidelines, don’t try to change too much at once and most importantly, don’t be too hard on yourself if you mess up. When suffering bad anxiety some years ago I remember hearing something on an audio tape that my mum gave me. It said “The definition of success is beating yourself up less and less every day”. I have never forgotten that.

For the next 60 days I will share with you my routine, my training, my fitness testing and body composition results, my nutrition (and favourite recipes) and my progress. I’m no better than any of you reading this, and I won’t be offended if you couldn’t care less about the things I am sharing with you. If I can help just one person get closer to their “best self”, then I am doing my job. If I can’t do that…I will in the very least take comfort in the fact I am getting closer to my own “best self” on this journey.

2 thoughts on “I may be a fitness professional but I too am capable of falling off the wagon…

Leave a Reply

